DLLR's Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing


Continued Professional Competency - License - Maryland Board for Professional Engineers



Enabling legislation became effective July 1, 2010 giving the Board the authority to adopt regulations to require continuing professional competency for a licensee as a condition of renewal of a license. The regulations became effective on July 11, 2011. Download a copy of the regulations (PDF document, 36KB, download Adobe Acrobat for free).

The requirements will be phased in at a rate of 50% beginning October 1, 2012.
If a license expires between October 1, 2012 and September 30, 2013, the licensee is required to report 12 PDH units - with a minimum of 9 PDH units in Category A programs, and a maximum of 3 PDH units in Category B programs.

If a license expires on or after October 1, 2013, the licensee is required to report 24 PDH units - with a minimum of 18 PDH units in Category A programs, including a minimum of 1 PDH unit in content areas related to the standards of practice or care, laws and regulations applicable to the practice of engineering in Maryland, or professional engineering ethics; and a maximum of 6 PDH units in Category B programs.

The licensee is required to maintain records and documentation of the PHD units earned. To assist the licensee, two forms have been created. The Reporting Form (Word document, 72KB, download Word viewer for free) should be used to list all the pertinent information about the 24 PDH units earned over the renewal period. The Assessment Form (Word document, 57KB, download Word viewer for free) should be used when (1) a course provider does not supply a PDH form or a record of an outcome measure, or (2) an activity is offered by a provider described in .08 B(2) of the Regulations. The records must be maintained for at least 4 years from the date of the completion of the qualifying program.

Licensees will be subject to a random audit of continuing professional competency courses. If you are audited, you will be required to submit proof of the hours claimed as more fully described in Section .09 of the regulations.


You may qualify for a retired license if you:

  1. are currently licensed in Maryland;
  2. have been licensed as a Professional Engineer for at least 25 years - 5 years of which were in Maryland; and
  3. are not the subject of a pending disciplinary action related to the practice of engineering in this or another state.

The fee for a retired license is $50. If granted, this license does not have to be renewed. Download the application (Word document, 261KB, download Word viewer for free).


The following providers are considered to be pre-authorized providers:

  1. National (ABET/EAC), regional, or State accredited academic institutions;
  2. National, State or regional engineering professional or technical societies or organizations;
  3. National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES);
  4. American Council of Engineering Companies (ACEC);
  5. International Association for Continuing Education and Training (IACET); and
  6. Entities currently certified as approved providers by the pre-authorized providers listed above; and
  7. Other entities that have been approved by the Board.


Individuals or entities that are not pre-authorized providers, may be approved by the Board upon application and approval Download an application (Word document, 111KB, download Word viewer for free).