Renew or Reinstate a License - Professional Engineers
Please read ALL requirements and instructions before proceeding with the application process.
Renewal notices are sent approximately 60 days before expiration of the license. The renewal fee is for a two-year license. A reinstatement fee of $100 will be automatically assessed if your license is expired.
Note: You cannot renew online prior to 60 days before your license expires. If you attempt to renew one day late or more, the reinstatement fee will automatically be assessed on your license renewal fee. You will also be audited for your Continuing Professional Competency (CPC) requirements.
BEFORE YOU BEGIN:
- For best results, we recommend using the most recent version of your browser to access the electronic licensing programs. You can update your browser at no additional cost by visiting our browser information section.
- When you go online, you will create a password by identifying yourself with certain personal information. Then, with this password and your registration number, you will be able to apply for a license, renew, or update your registration record at your convenience with a password unique and more memorable to you.
- Employers need to have their workers compensation policy number and insurance company's name to complete the renewal forms.
- A firm’s managing agent must renew his or her individual license before the firm’s permit may be renewed.
- Firms may not cover all employees' renewal fees with one charge transaction, but may do so with individual charges.
- We are collecting your e-mail addresses for Board use in order to facilitate our communication with you.
TO RENEW OR REINSTATE YOUR LICENSE:
- Click on the “Renew or Reinstate a License” link at the top of this page.
- Enter your registration number exactly as it appears on the data card. Follow the instructions to create your password, or to use your previously created password.
- You will receive an e-mail confirmation of the completed transaction. Please ensure your e-mail address is updated with the Board.
REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSE REINSTATEMENT
As part of the application process for reinstatement of your license, the Board requires you to submit the following in support of this application:
- An explanation of your failure to timely renew your license and a statement from you certifying that you did not sign and seal documents in the State of Maryland after the license lapsed. Please submit this information along with this application to the Maryland Board for Professional Engineers, Room 308, 500 N. Calvert Street, Baltimore, MD 21202-3651.
- In the event you are unable to provide such a statement, please provide an explanation to the Board in writing along with this application. You will be further advised of the Board’s review process, as well as your rights and various options that may be available to you.
CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL COMPETENCY REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSE REINSTATEMENT:
License expired for less than two years - A total of 24 hours is required as follows: minimum of 18 hours in Category A and a maximum of six hours in Category B are required. One hour must be in professional ethics, law/regulations, or standards of care. You will be subject to a mandatory audit.
License expired for more than two years - A total of 48 hours is required as follows: minimum of 36 hours in Category A and 12 hours maximum in Category B are required. Two hours must be in professional ethics, law/regulations, or standards of care. You will be subject to a mandatory audit.