PROPOSED ACTION ON REGULATIONS
MARYLAND REGISTER, VOLUME 40, ISSUE 6,
FRIDAY, MARCH 22, 2013
Title 09 DEPARTMENT OF LABOR, LICENSING, AND REGULATION
Subtitle 09 MARYLAND BOARD OF MASTER ELECTRICIANS
09.09.02 Continuing Education
Authority: Business Occupations and Professions Article,
§§ 6-205(2)(ii) and 6-310(c)(3), Annotated Code of Maryland
Notice of Proposed Action
The Maryland Board of Master Electricians proposes to adopt new Regulations
.01—.03 under a new chapter, COMAR 09.09.02 Continuing
Education. This action was considered by the Maryland Board of Master Electricians at a public meeting
held on June 26, 2012, notice of which was given by publication in 39:10 Md. R. 673 (May 18, 2012), in
accordance with State Government Article, §10-506(c)(1), Annotated Code of Maryland.
Statement of Purpose
The purpose of this action is to establish by regulation the requirements for continuing education
for renewal of a State master electrician license, including required hours, subject matter, and approved
methods for completion, in compliance with Business Occupations and Professions Article, §6-310(c)(3), Annotated Code of Maryland.
Comparison to Federal Standards
There is no corresponding federal standard to this proposed action.
Estimate of Economic Impact
The proposed action has no economic impact.
Economic Impact on Small Businesses
The proposed action has minimal or no economic impact on small businesses.
Impact on Individuals with Disabilities
The proposed action has no impact on individuals with disabilities.
Opportunity for Public Comment
Comments may be sent to Gae Herzberger, Administrative Aide, Maryland Board of Master Electricians, Department
of Labor, Licensing and Regulation, 500 North Calvert Street, Room 302, Baltimore, Maryland 21202, or call 410-230-6270,
or email to firstname.lastname@example.org, or fax to
410-333-6314. Comments will be accepted through May 22, 2013. A public hearing has not been scheduled.
Final action on the proposal will be considered by the Maryland Board of Master Electricians during a public
meeting to be held on May 28, 2013 at 10:00 a.m., at the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation, 500 North
Calvert Street, Third Floor Conference Room, Baltimore, Maryland 21202.
.01 Required Hours of Continuing Education.
A. Except as provided in §B of this regulation, to be eligible for renewal of a license, a master
electrician shall have completed 10 hours of continuing education during the prior license term, as required
by Business Occupations and Professions Article, §6-310(c)(3), Annotated Code of Maryland.
B. Application of Continuing Education Requirements.
(1) If a license expires on or before July 30, 2013, a licensee is not required to fulfill
the continuing education requirement as provided in §A of this regulation.
(2) If a license expires between August 1, 2013 and July 30, 2014, a licensee is required
to fulfill 50 percent of the continuing education requirement as provided in §A of this regulation.
(3) If a license expires on or after August 1, 2014, a licensee is required to fulfill the
full continuing education requirement as provided in §A of this regulation.
C. Acquisition of Qualifying Continuing Education.
(1) The continuing education required by §A of this regulation must have been obtained
during the 24 months immediately preceding license renewal.
(2) Continuing education hours required by §A of this regulation obtained prior to the
immediately preceding license term shall not be considered toward an applicant’s eligibility for license renewal.
D. The following standards will be used to measure the hours of credit to be given for acceptable
continuing education programs completed by individual applicants.
(1) Only participation hours or the equivalent, and not hours devoted to preparation, shall be counted.
(2) Services as teacher, lecturer, or instructor of subject matter related to the provision
of electrical services qualifying for continuing education credit shall be included to the extent that such
services contribute to the licensee’s occupational competence. Repetitious presentation, that is, those that
are substantially the same subject material, may be included only once in each reporting cycle. Hours allowable
in the capacity of teacher, lecturer, or instructor may not exceed 5 hours of the minimum requirements with
no carry-over provision for excess hours.
(3) A teacher, lecturer, or instructor of a qualifying continuing education program shall
receive 1 hour of continuing education credit for every hour of presentation or instruction.
.02 Subject Matter for Continuing Education.
A. Continuing educational hours from a course or training satisfy the requirement of Regulation .01A
of this chapter if the course or training is:
(1) Based on any article of or update to the National Electrical Code (NEC) currently adopted by the Board; or
(2) Based on any code or standard of the National Fire Prevention Association (NFPA)
that relates to the provision of electrical services as defined in Business Occupations and Professions
Article, §6-101(i), Annotated Code of Maryland.
B. The course or training shall be offered by a provider approved by the Board.
.03 Approved Methods for Completion of Required Continuing Education.
At least 5 of the 10 hours of continuing education required by Regulation .01A of this chapter for license
renewal shall be obtained in a classroom setting.
Board of Master Electricians