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Dear Applicant:


Congratulations in deciding to apply for a Maryland Home Improvement contractor’s license.  Getting a MHIC license is critical to the success of your home improvement business and it’s the law!  The MHIC licensing staff looks forward to assisting you.  Please find an application form for a Maryland Home Improvement Contractor’s license attached.


The following are the main elements of the licensing process:

1. Financial Solvency:

a. A personal financial statement is enclosed with the application form; this must be completed by the applicant only.

b. The Commission is required, to review the financial solvency of each applicant for a contractor’s license 

c. The Commission reviews each application for satisfactory:

i. assets & liabilities

ii. net financial worth 

iii. entire credit record (credit scores will not be used)
d. The intended scope and size of the business impacts the Commission’s flexibility in assessing net financial worth.  Each applicant is reviewed according to the above factors.  Typically, the Commission requires that each applicant demonstrates a net worth of $20,000.00 or more.  Each licensed contractor is covered by the Commission’s Guaranty Fund for monetary claims based on unworkmanlike or incomplete performance of contracts.  The Guaranty Fund covers individual homeowner’s claims up to $20,000.00 against licensed contractors.  The Commission may award from the Guaranty Fund, up to $100,000.00 for the acts or omissions of one contractor. The Commission has a right to reimbursement of the Guaranty Fund by the contractor who the Commission finds responsible for the act or omission.

e. Applicants may demonstrate financial solvency by any of the following:

i.   Personal net worth (business assets will not be used)
ii. Obtaining a Surety Bond (must show personal and business name)
iii. Securing an Indemnitor

2. General Liability Insurance:

a. Contractors must provide proof of a minimum of $50,000.00 of general liability insurance.

b. Must show personal and business name as insured and MHIC as Certificate Holder.


Thank you for applying for a Maryland Home Improvement Commission (MHIC) license.  Please carefully review your application package prior to submission. Incomplete or incorrect applications will be delayed and returned.
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