Before Reading Further:

This brochure only pertains to the
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Standards Act.

For more information on the
requirements of the Fair Labor Standards

Act please visit: www.dolgov.
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Maryland Wage and Hour
Amusement
and Recreational
Establishment Exemptions

Helping employers know which
employees are exempt from
minimum wage and overtime
requirements under Maryland law.



Which employers are exempt?

An employer that is an amusement or a
recreational establishment, including a
swimming pool can apply this exemption
if the employer:
e  Operates less than 7 months,
OR
e Generates at least two-thirds of their
average receipts during any 6
months of the preceding year and
less than one-third of their average
receipts during the remaining 6

months

What is an exempt employer

required to pay employees?

Exempt employers must pay employees
at least 85% of the State minimum wage
or $7.25, whichever is higher. Exempt
employers are not required to pay
employees overtime. However,
employees must receive the above sub-

minimum wage for every hour worked.

What are amusement and recreational

establishments?

Amusement and recreational establishments are
facilities that primarily offer amusement and
recreational activities to customers. This includes

facilities that ofter gambling and sports activities.

However, businesses that primarily ofter other
services but may have some amusement or
recreational activities on-site are not exempt. For
example, a hotel is not considered an amusement
or recreational establishment because the primary
service offered is accommodation, not amusement

and recreation activities.

Some businesses may have multiple establishments
within the same property. Establishments are
considered separate if both can operate
independently of the other. For example, a
restaurant at a ski lodge may be considered a
separate establishment from the ski rental and
ticket facility because the restaurant can operate
independently of the ski rental facility. However,
a concession stand within a recreational facility
may not be considered a separate establishment
because it does not operate independently from

the recreational activity.

What if an employer is unsure if they
qualify for the amusement and

recreational establishment exemptions?

Any employer with questions regarding the
use of these exemptions should contact the
Maryland Employment Standards Service
unit within the Maryland Department of
Labor, Licensing and Regulations.
Employment Standards Service
representatives can answer specific concerns
an employer may have and provide
additional guidance on complying with the
Maryland Wage and Hour Law. Employers
can email or call to resolve any questions or
concerns. Contact information for the

Employment Standards Service unit is

located on the back of this brochure.

For more information about Wage and Hour, please visit our web page at

www.dllr. maryland.gov/labor/wages/



