.02 Definitions. 

A. (text unchanged)
B. Terms Defined. 

(1)-(3) (text unchanged) "Applicant" means an individual applying for a license. 

(4) "Continuing education", "classroom education", or "course" means an educational program related to mortgage lending or brokering which contributes directly to the enhancement of professional competence of a mortgage originator to engage in the mortgage lending business, as defined in Financial Institutions Article, §11-501[(j)], Annotated Code of Maryland. 

(5) "Dwelling" has the meaning stated in [COMAR 09.03.06.02B] Financial Institutions Article, §11-501, Annotated Code of Maryland. 

(6) (text unchanged)
(7) "License" has the meaning stated in Financial Institutions Article, §11-601[(e)], Annotated Code of Maryland. 

(8) "Licensee" has the meaning stated in Financial Institutions Article, §11-601[(f)], Annotated Code of Maryland 

(9) "Mortgage originator" has the meaning stated for “mortgage loan originator” in Financial Institutions Article, §11-601[(k)], Annotated Code of Maryland. 

(10) (text unchanged)
(11) "Residential real [property] estate” has the meaning stated in Financial Institutions Article, §11-501[(m)], Annotated Code of Maryland. 

.03 Education Requirements. 

A. Subject to the NMLSR transition procedures under COMAR 09.03.09.06, [To] to qualify for a license, a mortgage originator shall [either:] 

[(1) Have 3 years of experience in the mortgage lending business, and have completed any continuing education courses required by COMAR 09.03.06.17; or 

(2) Have] have successfully completed in the 24 months immediately preceding application for a license: 
(1) [at] At least [40] 20 hours of prelicensing classroom education as required by Financial Institutions Article, §11-606, Annotated Code of Maryland [,]; and 
(2) [achieved] Achieved a passing grade on a written examination, as required by Financial Institutions Article, §11-606.1, Annotated Code of Maryland. 
B. [Except as provided in §C(2) of this regulation, in] Subject to the NMLSR transition procedures under COMAR 09.03.09.06, [In] in order to renew a license, a mortgage originator shall have successfully completed in the [24] 12 months immediately preceding the current renewal period at least [20] 8 hours of continuing education in approved courses, as required by Financial Institutions Article, §11-612, Annotated Code of Maryland. 

C. [Continuing Education. 

(1) The 20 hours of continuing education required by §B of this regulation shall include at least the following subjects in the number of hours indicated: 

(a)Ethics—2  hours; 

(b)Federal Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act (RESPA) compliance—2 hours; 

(c) Federal Truth in Lending Act compliance—2 hours; 
(d) Federal Equal Credit Opportunity Act/Fair Lending compliance—2 hours; 

(e) Maryland law update—2 hours; 

(f) Federal law update—2 hours; and 

(g) Electives—8 hours. 
(2) An individual who has been a mortgage originator or a covered employee as defined by COMAR 09.03.06.17B(2) with one or more licensees or persons exempt from licensing for the immediately preceding 10 years shall be considered to have satisfied the continuing education requirements by completing, during the immediately preceding 24 month period, approved courses in the following subjects in the number of hours indicated: 

(a) Ethics—2 hours; 

(b) Maryland law update—2 hours; and 

(c) Federal law update—2 hours. 

(3) Service as an instructor in an approved course qualifies for continuing education credit for the instructor. Credit for multiple presentations of substantially the same course during a single license period will be granted only once. 

(4) Hours in excess of the minimum requirement during any licensing period may not be carried over to a successive period. 
D. Classroom Education. The 40 hours of classroom education required by §A(2) of this regulation shall include at least the following subjects in the number of hours indicated: 

(1) Ethics—4 hours; 

(2) Federal Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act (RESPA) compliance—4 hours; 

(3) Federal Truth in Lending Act compliance—4 hours; 

(4) Federal Equal Credit Opportunity Act/Fair Lending compliance—4 hours; 

(5) Maryland law—5 hours, including at least 2 hours relating to the Maryland finder's fee law; 

(6) Privacy and security of customer records—2 hours; 

(7) Predatory lending and fraudulent real estate practices—2 hours; and 

(8) Electives—14 hours. 

E.] Education and Test Reporting, Verification, and Record Keeping. 

(1) A mortgage originator, when applying for an initial license or for a renewal license [or, if applicable, when applying for an initial license] shall: 

(a) Certify under oath as to the completion of, as applicable:

(i) [the] The prelicensing and continuing education requirements of [this regulation] Financial Institutions Article, §§11-606 and 11-612, Annotated Code of Maryland; and
(ii) The testing requirement under Financial Institutions Article, §11-606.1, Annotated Code of Maryland; and   

(b) [Attach to] Provide with the application, as applicable:

(i) A certificate or transcript from the course provider indicating that the applicant or licensee has completed the course work identified in the document. [the following information for each course completed: 

(i) Name of provider; 

(ii) Name of course; 

(iii) Number of hours; 

(iv) Date or dates attended; 
(v) Brief description of course subject; and 

(vi)](ii) A certificate from the test provider stating that the applicant or licensee has passed the test and setting forth the grade achieved on the test.  [Proof of a passing grade on the written examination, if applicable.] 

(2) The Commissioner may verify, on a random or other basis, satisfactory completion of the requirements of this regulation. 

(3) A licensee shall retain the evidence reasonably acceptable to the Commissioner to verify satisfactory completion of the requirements of this regulation for at least 3 years after issuance of the license to which it applies. 

[F. Approved Course Providers. 

(1) The Commissioner may approve any course that is a program of learning which contributes directly to the residential mortgage lending competence of a mortgage originator in. 

(2) Subject to §F(3) of this regulation, courses shall qualify for approval subject to the same criteria as continuing education courses under COMAR 09.03.06.17. 

(3) Classroom education courses required under §A(2) of this regulation may not be conducted by correspondence or other unsupervised individual study methods. 
G. Written Examination. 

(1) The written examination required under §A(2) of this regulation shall: 

(a) Include at least 100 objective questions, of which at least 15 relate directly to each of the subject areas listed in §D of this regulation; 

(b) Require a passing grade of at least 70 percent; and 

(c) Provide for a reasonable means of verifying the identity of the individual being examined. 

(2) The written examination shall be developed and administered: 

(a) Except as provided in §G(2)(b) of this regulation, by the person conducting the classroom education course; and 

(b) Effective July 1, 2009, by the Commissioner or the Commissioner's designee. 
(3) A copy of the written examination under §G(2)(a) of this regulation shall be submitted to the Commissioner by the person conducting the classroom education course with other materials required for course approval under COMAR 09.03.06.17.] 

[H.] D. Denial, Nonrenewal, Suspension, or Revocation of License. 
Subject to the notice and hearing requirements of Financial Institutions Article, §11-616, Annotated Code of Maryland, failure to comply with the requirements of this regulation is grounds for: 

(1) Denial of a license under Financial Institutions Article, §11-607(e), Annotated Code of Maryland; or 

(2) Suspension or revocation of a license or other sanctions pursuant to Financial Institutions Article, §11-615, Annotated Code of Maryland. 

.05 [Experience Requirements for Licensing] Incomplete Applications. 

[A. For purposes of Financial Institutions Article, §11-605(a)(1)(i), Annotated Code of Maryland, an individual is considered to have at least 3 years of experience in the mortgage lending business if: 

(1) The individual has received compensation in connection with a minimum of 12 closed mortgage loans per year for each of the 3 years; or 

(2) The individual has worked in the mortgage lending business at least an average of 20 hours per week for each of the 3 years. 

B. The Commissioner may consider the totality of an individual's particular duties and activities while engaged in the mortgage lending business to determine whether the individual has at least 3 years of experience.] If an application for an initial license, a renewal license, or a license amendment, is incomplete when submitted and remains incomplete for at least 60 days, the Commissioner may cease processing the incomplete application and return it to the applicant.
.06 Transition to Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry. 

[A. License Terms. Notwithstanding Financial Institutions Article, §11-609(a), Annotated Code of Maryland, an initial license term shall be for a period of 1 year, which shall: 

(1) Commence on January 1 of each year; and 

(2) Expire on December 31 following the commencement of the license term. 

B. Renewal Terms. 

(1) Subject to §B(2) of this regulation, and notwithstanding Financial Institutions Article, §11-609(b), Annotated Code of Maryland, a renewal term shall be for a period of 1 year, which shall; 

(a) Commence on January 1 of each year after the initial term; and 

(b) Expire on December 31 following the commencement of the renewal term. 

(2) A person licensed as a mortgage originator before January 1, 2009, shall renew on the renewal dates set forth on its license for the following renewal terms: 

(a) For a renewal date falling between January 1, 2009, and September 30, 2009, the renewal term will expire on December 31, 2009; 

(b) For a renewal date falling between October 1, 2009, and September 30, 2010, the renewal term will expire on December 31, 2010; and 

(c) For a renewal date falling between October 1, 2010, and December 31, 2010, the renewal term will expire December 31, 2011. 

(3) Persons renewing under §B(2) of this regulation shall pay the following prorated amounts of the 1-year renewal fee: 

(a) When the renewal term is less than 12 months, the renewal fee shall be reduced by an amount equal to 1/12 of the 1-year renewal fee for each month or fraction of a month the renewal term is less than 1 year; and 

(b) When the renewal term is more than 12 months, the renewal fee shall be increased by an amount equal to 1/12 of the 1-year renewal fee for each month or fraction of a month the renewal term is more than 1 year. 

C. License Application and Renewal. 

(1) Beginning on a date determined by the Commissioner, notwithstanding the requirements set forth in Financial Institutions Article, §§11-606 and 11-609, Annotated Code of Maryland, an applicant for a license shall complete and submit the license application form or forms provided by NMLSR according to its instructions. 

(2) If there are any conflicts between the procedures or the defined terms set forth in the NMLSR application forms and the procedures and defined terms used in connection with Financial Institutions Article, §§11-606 and 11-609, Annotated Code of Maryland: 

(a) The procedures and defined terms set forth in the NMLSR application forms prevail; and 

(b) The conflicting provisions in or related to Financial Institutions Article, §§11-606 and 11-609, Annotated Code of Maryland, are waived or modified to conform with the NMLSR application forms. 

(3) Beginning on a date determined by the Commissioner, notwithstanding the requirements set forth in Financial Institutions Article, §§11-606 and 11-609, Annotated Code of Maryland, an applicant for a renewal shall complete and submit the renewal application form provided by NMLSR according to its instructions. 

(4) If there are any conflicts between the procedures or the defined terms set forth in the NMLSR application forms and the procedures and defined terms used in connection with Financial Institutions Article, §§11-606 and 11-609, Annotated Code of Maryland: 

(a) The procedures and defined terms set forth in the NMLSR application forms prevail; and 

(b) The conflicting provisions in or related to Financial Institutions Article, §§11-606 and 11-609, Annotated Code of Maryland, are waived or modified to conform with the NMLSR application forms.] 
A. Applicants for Initial License.
In connection with a license approved for issuance from July 1, 2009 through December 31, 2009:
(1) The license will be issued for a transitional extended term expiring on December 31, 2010;
(2) The pre-licensing test requirement set forth in Financial Institutions Article, §11-605(a)(5), Annotated Code of Maryland will be deferred until such time as:

(a) A pre-licensing test has been approved by the NMLS; and 

(b) The Commissioner notifies the licensee that the pre-licensing test is available;

(3)(a) An applicant for an initial license will be deemed to have satisfied the prelicensing educational course requirement under Financial Institutions Article, §11-606, Annotated Code of Maryland, if the applicant completed 20 hours of continuing education approved by the Commissioner within the 5 years prior to the Commissioner’s receipt of the applicant’s initial license application; and    

(b) An applicant for an initial license meeting the prelicensing education requirement as set forth in paragraph (a) shall provide to the Commissioner proof satisfactory to the Commissioner of having completed 20 hours of continuing education within the 5 years prior to the Commissioner’s receipt of the application;   

(4) The Maryland transitional extended-term fees for an initial license payable to the Commissioner shall include:
(a) A $100 investigation fee; 

(b) An initial license fee of $225 for the year 2009; and  

(c) One renewal license fee of $225 for the year 2010; and 

(5) An applicant for a transitional extended term shall pay to the NMLSR any processing or other fees imposed by the NMLSR. 

B. Applicants for an Interim License under Financial Institutions Article, §11-605.1, Annotated Code of Maryland. 

In connection with an approved interim license:

(1) The license will be issued for a transitional extended term expiring on December 31, 2010;

(2) The licensing qualification requirements may be completed according to the schedule set forth in Financial Institutions Article, §11-605.1, Annotated Code of Maryland; 
(3)(a) An applicant for an interim license will be deemed to have satisfied the prelicensing educational course requirement under Financial Institutions Article, §11-606, Annotated Code of Maryland, if the applicant completed 20 hours of continuing education approved by the Commissioner within the 5 years prior to the Commissioner’s receipt of the applicant’s initial license application; and    

(b) An applicant for an interim license meeting the prelicensing education requirement as set forth in paragraph (a) shall provide to the Commissioner proof satisfactory to the Commissioner of having completed 20 hours of continuing education within the 5 years prior to the Commissioner’s receipt of the application  

 (4) The Maryland transitional extended-term fees for an interim license payable to the Commissioner shall include:
(a) A $100 investigation fee; 

(b) An initial license fee of $225 for the year 2009; and  

(c) One renewal license fee of $225 for the year 2010; and 

(5) An applicant for a transitional extended term interim license shall pay to the NMLSR any processing or other fees imposed by the NMLSR. 

C. Applicants for Initial Affiliated Insurance Producer-Mortgage Loan Originator License Subject to §11-603.1. 
In connection with a license approved for issuance from July 1, 2009 through December 31, 2009:

(1) The license will be issued for a transitional extended term expiring on December 31, 2010;

(2) The test requirement set forth in Financial Institutions Article, §11-605(a)(5), Annotated Code of Maryland will be deferred until such time as:

(a) A pre-licensing test has been approved by the NMLS; and 

(b) The Commissioner notifies the licensee that the pre-licensing test is available; 

(3)(a) An applicant for an affiliated insurance producer-mortgage loan originator license will be deemed to have satisfied the prelicensing educational course requirement under Financial Institutions Article, §11-606, Annotated Code of Maryland, if the applicant completed 20 hours of continuing education approved by the Commissioner within the 5 years prior to the Commissioner’s receipt of the applicant’s initial license application; and    

(b) An applicant for an initial license meeting the prelicensing education requirement as set forth in paragraph (a) shall provide to the Commissioner proof satisfactory to the Commissioner of having completed 20 hours of continuing education within the 5 years prior to the Commissioner’s receipt of the application;
(4) The Maryland transitional extended-term fees for an initial license payable to the Commissioner shall include:
(i) A $100 investigation fee; 

(ii) An initial license fee of $700 for the year 2009; and  

(iii) One renewal license fee of $700 for the year 2010; and 

(d) An applicant for a transitional extended term shall pay to the NMLSR any processing or other fees imposed by the NMLSR. 

D. Applicants for Renewal License.
In connection with a renewal license approved for issuance from July 1, 2009 through December 31, 2009:

(1) The renewal license will be issued for a transitional extended term expiring on December 31, 2010;

(2) Subject to subparagraphs (i) and (ii) below, the licensing qualification requirements may be completed according to the schedule set forth in Financial Institutions Article, §11-609(e), Annotated Code of Maryland:
(a) If the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development determines that renewing current licensees must meet the pre-licensing test requirement as set forth in Section 3 of Ch. 4, Acts of 2009, the Commissioner shall notify licensees of the necessity for compliance; and
(b) An applicant for a renewal license who meets the prelicensing education requirement under Financial Institutions Article, §11-606, Annotated Code of Maryland, by having completed 20 hours of continuing education within the 5 years prior to the expiration of the applicant’s current license as set forth in Financial Institutions, §11-609(e)(2), Annotated Code of Maryland, shall provide to the Commissioner proof satisfactory to the Commissioner of having completed such continuing education;   
(3)  The Maryland transitional extended-term fees for a renewal license payable to the Commissioner shall include a pro-rated renewal fee based on a fee of $225 for a 365 day year; and   

(4) An applicant for a transitional extended term renewal license shall pay to the NMLSR any processing or other fees imposed by the NMLSR. 
E. Fingerprinting and Criminal Background Checks.
Notwithstanding Financial Institutions Article, §11-604(d)(1), Annotated Code of Maryland, in connection with an initial application for a license, and at any other time that the Commissioner requests, an applicant or licensee shall provide fingerprints for use by the Federal Bureau of Investigation and the Criminal Justice Information System Central Repository of the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services to conduct criminal history record checks until:

(1) Such time as the NMLSR is able to accept fingerprints for submission to the Federal Bureau of Investigation, and any other governmental agency or entity authorized to receive this information for a state, national, or international criminal history background; and 
(2) The Commissioner has developed and implemented procedures to allow the NMLSR to accept fingerprints for submission to the Federal Bureau of Investigation, and any other governmental agency or entity authorized to receive this information for a state, national, or international criminal history background. 
F. Education During Transition Period.

An applicant may meet the 20-hour prelicensing education requirement set forth in  Financial Institutions Article, §11-606, Annotated Code of Maryland by completing, in the 24 months preceding the date of application, a 40-hour course approved by the Commissioner prior to July 1, 2009 until:

(1) Such time as the NMLSR approves a 20-hour prelicensing education program; and

(2) The Commissioner informs applicants of the availability of the NMLSR-approved 20 hour education program.   

.07 Fees. 

A. Standard Licensing Fees.
(1) Application Investigation Fee. The nonrefundable investigation fee required by Financial Institutions Article, [§11-606(b)(1)] § 11-604(b)(1), Annotated Code of Maryland, is $100. 

[B.] (2)  Initial License Fee. 

[(1)] (a) The license fee required by Financial Institutions Article, [§11-606(b)(2)] § 11-604(b)(2), Annotated Code of Maryland, is $225 for a 1-year license term. 

[(2)] (b) In addition to the initial license fee set forth in [§B(1)] §A(2)(a) of this regulation, an applicant for a license shall pay to NMLSR the license application processing fee and any other fees that NMLSR imposes in connection with the application. 

[C.] (3) Renewal Fee. 

[(1)] (a) The renewal fee required by Financial Institutions Article, §11-609(b)(2), Annotated Code of Maryland, is $225 for a 1-year renewal term. 

[(2)] (b) In addition to the renewal fee set forth in [§C(1)] §A(3)(a) of this regulation, an applicant for a renewal shall pay to NMLSR the renewal application processing fee and any other fees that NMLSR imposes in connection with the application.
B. Licensing Fees for Affiliated Insurance Producer-Mortgage Loan Originator Subject to §11-603.1. 
(1) Application Investigation Fee. 
The nonrefundable investigation fee required by Financial Institutions Article, §11-604(b)(1), Annotated Code of Maryland, is $100. 

(2)  Initial License Fee. 

(a) The license fee required by Financial Institutions Article, §11-604(b)(2), Annotated Code of Maryland, is $700 for a 1-year Affiliated Insurance Producer-Mortgage Loan Originator license term. 

(b) In addition to the initial license fee set forth in §B(2)(a) of this regulation, an applicant for a license shall pay to NMLSR the license application processing fee and any other fees that NMLSR imposes in connection with the application. 

(3) Renewal Fee. 

(a) The renewal fee required by Financial Institutions Article, §11-609(b)(2), Annotated Code of Maryland, is $700 for a 1-year renewal term. 

(b) In addition to the renewal fee set forth in §B(2)(a) of this regulation, an applicant for a renewal shall pay to NMLSR the renewal application processing fee and any other fees that NMLSR imposes in connection with the application.

[D.] C. Investigation Fee. The fee for each of the Commissioner's employees engaged in investigations performed by the Commissioner as authorized by Financial Institutions Article, §11-613(b), Annotated Code of Maryland, is $250 per day. 

[E.] D. License Amendment Fee. The license amendment fee required by Financial Institutions Article, §11-603(c)(2), Annotated Code of Maryland, is $75. 
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