Claimant Most Frequently Asked Questions - Unemployment Insurance
- When should I first file? How should I file?
- What information do I need to have before filing a claim?
- What if I worked in a state other than Maryland?
- What if I have worked in more than one state in the last 18 months?
- What if I am living in another state, but worked in Maryland in the last 18 months?
- How much money can I receive and how is my weekly benefit amount (WBA) determined?
- How do I know if I am monetarily eligible?
- Can I be paid for my dependents?
- Are unemployment insurance payments taxable?
- What are my responsibilities as a claimant?
- Must I enroll with the Maryland Division of Workforce Development and Adult Learning?
- Can my failure to report to the Division of Workforce Development and Adult Learning affect my unemployment insurance benefits?
- What income must I report and when should it be reported? What effect will this income have on my benefits?
- Can I be exempt from the regular work search requirements?
- How often and when must I file weekly claim certifications (request for payment)?
- How will I receive my unemployment insurance benefits?
- How long can I continue to collect benefits?
- What is a benefit year and how long does it last?
- Are there any unemployment insurance extension programs in effect?
- What happens if I quit my job?
- What happens if I am fired from my job?
- What if I am working full time but earning less than my weekly benefit amount (WBA)?
- If I have been working part-time but am now unemployed and only looking for part-time work, am I eligible for unemployment insurance benefits?
- Can I file for unemployment insurance benefits if I do not meet the definition of a part-time worker, as defined in the question above, but am working part-time?
- When, why and how will the Division of Unemployment Insurance contact me?
- What should I do if I cannot report or be available as instructed?
- What does it mean to be disqualified or penalized? What can cause a disqualification?
- What do I do if I receive a Notice of Benefit Determination denying my unemployment insurance benefits and I want to appeal the denial?
- What is unemployment insurance fraud and what penalties can be imposed?
- What unemployment insurance services or information can I access by telephone? What is the number I should call?
- When should I contact the Division of Unemployment Insurance (DUI)?
- How do I get help in finding a job?
- What is the Maryland Unemployment Insurance Benefits Debit Card?
- Are all unemployment insurance benefits paid through the debit card?
- If I receive a debit card, does that mean that I have met the eligibility criteria to receive Maryland unemployment insurance benefits and have been paid?
- When won't I receive a debit card?
- How can I access my unemployment insurance benefit payments using my debit card?
- Can I access the entire cash amount of my unemployment insurance benefit payment on the same day the funds are available?
- When will I receive my initial payment?
- How will I know when funds are added to my card?
- How do I check my debit card balance or track my spending?
- Are there fees for using the debit card?
- How do I transfer the funds on the debit card to my personal bank account?
- If I stop filing for unemployment insurance benefits and then at a later point re-apply, will I use the same debit card?
- What should I do if I change my address?
- What do I do if my debit card has been lost or stolen or there has been unauthorized use of my debit card?
- When do I contact the Division of Unemployment Insurance?
1. When should I first file? How do I file?
Eligibility for unemployment insurance benefits cannot be determined until you actually file an initial claim. If you are unemployed or working part-time, file your claim as soon as possible, as your eligibility begins the week in which you file your claim. Your claim becomes effective the Sunday of the week during which you apply for benefits.
- your name, Social Security number, address and telephone number;
- if you are claiming dependents, you will need their names, birth dates and Social Security numbers; and
- the name, complete payroll address, telephone number and reason for separation for each employer you worked for in the 18 months prior to filing your claim.
- if you are not a citizen, proof of your alien status
- if you were in the military within the last 18 months, your DD214, Member 4.
- if you worked for the Federal Government, your Form-50 or SF-8 if available
3. What if I worked in a state other than Maryland?
An unemployment insurance claim is filed against the state where you worked, not where you live. If all of your work in the last 18 months has been in a state other than Maryland, your claim should be filed against that state. The laws of the state you are filing against govern your claim. In most cases, you will be instructed to contact the state where you worked directly; States' Unemployment Insurance Contact Information or you may call a Maryland Claim Center, Claim Center Telephone Numbers.
These claims cannot be filed using the Maryland Unemployment Insurance Internet Website.
Any benefits you receive will be paid by the state against which you file and all correspondence will be with that state. You must meet all the requirements of that state's laws in order to be eligible.
Since the laws of each state are different, it is possible that your base period, benefit year and payment amount will be different from that of a Maryland worker. The laws of the state against which you file govern your claim.
Claims for unemployment insurance benefits may be filed against any of the United States, the District of Columbia (D.C.), Canada, Puerto Rico or the Virgin Islands.
Note: Different states may also have different penalty periods, rules for dependents' allowances, etc.
4. What if I have worked in more than one state in the last 18 months?
You may have an option to file against any one of the states in which you worked and have monetary eligibility. You may choose to combine the wages of the states in which you worked to establish a combined wage claim, which may result in a higher weekly benefit amount.
To determine in which states you may have an option to file, contact the states in which you worked to explore all options. Your combined wage claim may be filed in any state in which you have employment and wages in the base period of the state and you qualify based on combining your wages. These claims cannot be filed using the Maryland Unemployment Insurance Internet Website. For more information, you may call a Maryland Claim Center, "Claim Center Telephone Numbers" or contact the states in which you worked. Other states' telephone numbers are listed at "State's Unemployment Insurance Contact Information."
5. What if am living in another state, but worked in Maryland?
If your base period earnings are in Maryland, but you do not live in Maryland, you would file your claim against Maryland. Your claim would be governed by the Maryland Unemployment Insurance Law. You can file your claim via the Internet at mdunemployment.com or by telephone using one of the telephone numbers listed on the Unemployment Insurance Home Page under "Claim Center Telephone Numbers."
If you move after establishing a Maryland claim, call the Claimant Information Service to have your address changed.
6. How much money can I receive and how is my weekly benefit amount (WBA) determined?
The weekly benefit amount (WBA) is the amount of money you may receive and is based on the amount that you were paid by all employers for whom you worked during the base period. The higher your earnings, the higher your weekly benefit amount up to the maximum allowed by law. The current weekly benefit amount provided by the Maryland Unemployment Insurance Law ranges from a minimum of $50.00 to a maximum of $430.00.
Standard Base Period
The standard base period is the first four of the last five calendar quarters completed before you file your new claim for benefits. If you worked full-time during all four quarters, your weekly benefit amount (WBA) will be approximately one-half of your gross weekly wage up to the maximum weekly benefit amount in effect at the time. You must have earnings in at least two of the four quarters of the base period. View the Maryland Schedule of Benefits as a web page or a PDF document.
Example of standard base period:
If you file your claim in March, your base period will be the 12-month period from October 1st through September 30th before you filed your claim. The table below shows the base period for a new claim filed in any month of the year:
Month of New Claim
Your Standard Base Period the 12-Month Period Ending the Previous:
|January, February or March||September 30|
|April, May or June||December 31|
|July, August or September||March 31|
|October, November or December||June 30|
If you have worked outside of Maryland or for the Federal government or served in the Armed Services during your base period, you must report this information when you file your claim. Under certain circumstances, these wages can be combined with your Maryland wages to give you a higher weekly benefit amount. If you have no Maryland wages during the base period, you may be required to file a Federal claim or an interstate claim. Division of Unemployment Insurance staff will help you with this process.
Alternate Base Period
Under the law, if you are not monetarily eligible for any unemployment insurance benefits using the standard base period, outlined above, then an Alternate Base Period will automatically be considered for potential monetary eligibility. The alternate base period uses the most recently completed four quarters of wages.
Example of the alternate base period:
If you file your claim in March, your base period will be the 12-month period from January 1st through December 31st before you filed your claim. The table below shows the alternate base period for a new claim filed in any month of the year:
Month of New Claim
Your Alternate Base Period the 12-Month Period Ending the Previous:
|January, February or March||December 31|
|April, May or June||March 31|
|July, August or September||June 30|
|October, November or December||September 30|
7. How do I know if I am monetarily eligible?
You will receive a form called a "Determination of Monetary Eligibility." It will show your base period wages and your weekly benefit amount if you are monetarily eligible.
Form DLLR/DUI 212, "Determination of Monetary Eligibility," is mailed to you within 3 days after you file your initial claim. This form is for your records and it contains a listing of your base period earnings. It lists all the employers for whom you worked who are covered by the Maryland Unemployment Insurance Law and all wages these employers reported under your name and Social Security number during the base period.
Check this form carefully. Does it:
- List any employers for whom you did not work?
- List all employers for whom you did work during your base period?
- List all the wages you earned during the base period?
If you think a correction should be made, you must contact the Claimant Information Service within 15 days and ask for a correction. You may be asked to provide copies of your Social Security card, check stubs, W-2 forms and any other proof of wages that you have.
Remember, you must contact DUI within 15 days for your protest to be accepted. Have your "Determination of Monetary Eligibility" with you when you call. In addition, you must continue to file timely weekly claim certifications (request for payment) while you await the result of the protest.
If you are not eligible for any unemployment insurance based on the standard base period explained above, the form will contain instructions on how to apply for the alternate base period, also explained above. You will need to contact DUI within 15 days as explained in the preceding paragraph and continue to file timely weekly claim certifications (request for payment).
In addition to being monetarily eligible, you must be unemployed through no fault of your own, able to work, available for work, looking for full-time work (unless defined by Unemployment Insurance as a part-time worker), and willing to accept a job for which you are qualified in order to collect benefits.
8. Can I be paid for my dependents?
For Unemployment Insurance purposes, a dependent is defined as a son, daughter, stepson, stepdaughter, or legally adopted child (not grandchild or foster child) under 16 years of age for which you provide support. You may be eligible for dependents' allowance of $8 per dependent for up to 5 dependent children. Dependents' allowance will only be paid for 26 weeks during any one-year period. Only one parent may claim a dependent during any one-year period. The maximum weekly benefit amount, including any dependents' allowance is currently $430 per week.
9. Are unemployment insurance payments taxable?
Yes. Any unemployment insurance benefits that you receive must be reported as part of your gross income for both state and federal tax purposes. To assist you in filing your tax returns, we will send you an IRS Form 1099-G showing the total amount of unemployment insurance benefits paid to you during the previous year. You may elect to have taxes deducted from unemployment insurance payments. You can choose to have either Federal taxes, Maryland state taxes, both or neither deducted from your payment. You must sign and return the W-4 form to us before any taxes can be withheld from your unemployment insurance benefits.
- be able to work, available for work and you must make an active search for full-time work (unless defined by Unemployment Insurance as a part-time worker);
- report all wages earned each week;
- report all monies received by you (e.g., vacation pay, severance pay, pension payments, etc.);
- be available and/or contact the Division of Unemployment Insurance when directed to do so;
- report to the Maryland Division of Workforce Development and Adult Learning when required to do so;
- accept suitable work as defined by law;
- file timely weekly claim certifications (request for payment). For more details see the question, "How often and when must I file weekly claim certifications (request for payment)?"
- Effective December 3, 2017, to be eligible for benefits, you must make a minimum of three (3) valid job contacts per week. Job applications or resumes must be submitted where accepted by hiring employers. Valid job contacts are as follows: a) in person contact with an individual with knowledge of the job; b) telephone contact with an individual with knowledge of the job; c) electronic transmission (e.g internet, email, fax); or d) other methods appropriate to the occupational classification or as specified by the employer.
- Whether you are filing on the internet or by phone you must enter your job contacts on the MWE-REX WORK SEARCH VERIFICATION LOG. You must also enter any wages for all work, including fulltime, part time, temporary, self-employment, tips or odd jobs. You must report these earnings during the week earned regardless of when you are actually paid. However, commission payments must be reported during the week paid. All earnings must be entered on the MWE-REX WORK SEARCH VERIFICATION LOG. The log can be found on the Reemployment Exchange (REX). Information submitted into REX will be retained as your permanent record job contacts and can be printed if you need a copy of your contacts. Failure to perform and record at least three (3) contacts per week will result in the denial of benefit payments.
11. Must I enroll with the Maryland Division of Workforce Development and Adult Learning?
The Maryland Division of Workforce Development and Adult Learning (DWDAL) provides a full range of employment services through the American Job Centers and via the internet. Free comprehensive job search assistance is an important part of your unemployment insurance benefits package. Under the Maryland Unemployment Insurance law, you must enroll with DWDAL within 5 days of filing your initial claim. You must enroll either 1) in person by visiting your nearest one-stop career center; or 2) via the internet at Maryland Workforce Exchange. The list of American Job Centers is located on the back cover of the benefits pamphlet, "What You Should Know About Unemployment Insurance in Maryland," and on the internet at Maryland Workforce Exchange.
- All claimants must completely register with Maryland’s Division of Workforce Development and Adult Learning within five (5) days of filing their initial claim.
- Claimants must verify the Maryland Workforce Exchange (MWE) demographic and education sections, enter past employment information and create a system resume through MWE’s Resume Builder; or upload an existing resume onto the MWE database.
12. Can my failure to report to the Division of Workforce Development and Adult Learning affect my unemployment benefits?
Failure to report as instructed by the Division of Workforce Development and Adult Learning could result in a delay or denial of your unemployment insurance benefits.
On occasion, you may receive notification to report for some form of service provided by the Division of Workforce Development and Adult Learning such as Reemployment Services and Eligibility Assessment (RESEA), registration, job referral or an Reemployment Opportunity Workshop (ROW). The notice will tell you when and where to report. You must report in-person on the date and at the time shown on the notice. Whenever you report you should be prepared to accept an offer of suitable work and be ready to work immediately. Do not bring children, guests or pets to the office with you. Dress appropriately for a job interview. Bring the notice with you.
13. What income must I report and when should it be reported? What effect will this income have on my benefits?
Any income must be reported. The Division of Unemployment Insurance (DUI) staff will make a determination based on the Maryland Unemployment Insurance Law regarding whether the monies will have an effect on your weekly benefit amount.
When you file your initial claim or reopen your existing claim, you must report full or part-time wages earned during that week from regular employment, self-employment, odd jobs, etc. regardless of whether you were paid during that week.
You must also report pensions, annuities, holiday pay, vacation pay, severance pay, bonuses and special payments that you have received or will receive. Commission payments must be reported during the week in which you receive the commission.
When you file your weekly claim certification, you must report all gross wages (all wages earned before taxes and other deductions) earned during the week in which the work was performed regardless of whether you were paid during that week. This includes wages earned for permanent and temporary work, part-time and full-time work, self-employment and odd jobs. Commission payments are handled differently. Commission payments must be reported during the claim week in which you receive the commission payments. The first $50 in earnings will not be deducted from unemployment insurance benefits. However, you must report all earnings, even if under $50. Any earnings over $50 per week will be deducted from your benefit payment on a dollar for dollar basis. Earnings are considered payment, in any form, for any work or service performed, including self-employment, tips and odd jobs.
In addition, DUI must be notified if you receive a back pay award or, if once you begin receiving benefits, your monthly pension amount changes.
When you return to work, you must report the wages earned during the week you first work, regardless of whether you have been paid.
If you do not report these payments as instructed, you are committing unemployment insurance fraud. If you are found guilty of fraud, all fraudulently acquired benefits must be repaid with interest, and you will not be permitted to receive any future unemployment insurance benefits for a one year period from the date the fraud issue is determined. In addition to these administrative penalties, you can be fined up to $1,000 or imprisoned for up to 90 days, or both.
- Any week you have earned wages including full-time, part-time, temporary, self-employment, tips or odd jobs. You must report these monies when earned.
- However, commission payments must be reported during the week you are actually paid and all earnings must be reported on the MWE-REX WORK VERIFICATION LOG.
- On a temporary layoff and your employer has provided you with a definite return to work date of 10 weeks or less;
- A member of a union and are only permitted to get your work through the union hiring hall;
- In a training program approved by the agency;
- Serving on a jury;
- Participating in the Work Sharing program.
15. How often and when must I file weekly claim certifications (request for payment)?
If you file an unemployment insurance claim against the State of Maryland, you must file weekly claim certifications for each week of unemployment for which you are requesting UI benefits. You may file your weekly claim certifications (request for payment) by Internet (Webcert) or telephone (Telecert). Each weekly claim certification covers a one-week period.
It is your responsibility to keep track of the weeks for which you are requesting payment and to file those weekly claim certifications by telephone or internet timely. Failure to file your weekly claim certifications timely causes a delay in benefits and may result in denial of benefits. If your weekly claim certifications are filed properly and have been accepted over the telephone or internet, you will receive a processing number. If you do not get a processing number, the weekly claim certification has not been accepted. If this occurs, you must contact the Claimant Information Service immediately in order to ensure continued payment of benefits. Don't wait. To be considered timely, your weekly claim certification must be filed by 5:00 p.m. ET on the Friday following the week for which you are requesting benefits.
In order to file a timely weekly claim certification for the week ending March 12, 2016, you must file by telephone or internet between 12:01 a.m. on March 13, 2016, (Sunday) and 5:00 p.m. EST on March 18, 2016 (Friday). Benefits for weeks that are not filed on time may be denied according to unemployment insurance law and regulations. Any claims for weeks between the first untimely week and the date you contact DUI to reopen your claim will also be denied.
It is very important that your responses to the questions on the weekly claim certification are complete, correct and honest. Your responses to these questions become a part of your Unemployment Insurance record and will be retained. Remember it is a criminal offense to make any false statements or fail to disclose any wages or other material facts in order to obtain or increase benefits.
For each week that you file a claim certification, you must record a minimum of three (3) valid weekly work search contacts in the MWE-REX WORK SEARCH VERIFICATION LOG. This log is electronic and will retain the work search contacts for the life of the claimant’s unemployment claim. Claimants may also use the manual log. These logs can be found on the mdunemployment.com website.
16. How will I receive my unemployment insurance benefits?
The State of Maryland issues unemployment insurance benefit payments with the Maryland Unemployment Insurance (UI) Benefit Prepaid Debit Card. This method of payment is mandatory.
17. How long can I continue to collect benefits?
If you remain totally unemployed and otherwise remain eligible, you may receive 26 times your weekly benefit amount. This is the maximum amount of unemployment insurance benefits payable under the law. Since Maryland has a weekly claim certification processing system, each payment will represent one week of benefits. NOTE: The only time that benefits can exceed an amount in excess of 26 weeks times your weekly benefit amount is if a federal extension program is available. You will be notified if an extension program is in effect.
You may file claims for more than 26 weeks if you earn some wages and partial benefits are paid. However, if you file for more than 26 weeks of benefits, no more than 26 weeks of dependents' allowance can be paid in a benefit year. If you have received all the benefits to which you are entitled (normally 26 weeks), then you may receive no more until the benefit year is over, even if you work again and become unemployed. NOTE: The only time that benefits can exceed an amount in excess of 26 weeks times your weekly benefit amount is if a federal extension program is available. You will be notified if an extension program is in effect.
18. What is a benefit year and how long does it last?
When you file a claim for benefits, you establish a "benefit year." Your benefit year is the one-year (52 weeks) period beginning with the Sunday of the first week in which you file your new claim. For example, if you filed your new claim on Friday, March 11, 2016, your benefit year would start with the preceding Sunday, March 6, 2016; this would be your "effective date." Your benefit year would last until March 5, 2017. During a benefit year you may receive up to 26 times your weekly benefit amount. Under normal circumstances, you may not start another benefit year until the first one is completed. However, if you have also worked in another state during your base period and have received all your Maryland benefits in your benefit year, you may file against the other state in which you worked and you may be eligible for benefits from that state. Call the Claimant Information Service for further information on establishing a new benefit year.
19. Are there any unemployment insurance extension programs in effect?
No. At this time you are eligible to receive a maximum of twenty-six times your weekly benefit amount (26 weeks of full benefits). You may file claims for more than 26 weeks if you earn some wages and partial benefits are paid. During times of high unemployment, there may be additional weeks available. If this happens, all eligible claimants will be contacted about any additional benefits that are available.
22. What if I am working full time but earning less than my weekly benefit amount (WBA)?
If you are working full-time but earning wages that are less than your weekly benefit amount, you are not unemployed as defined by the Maryland Unemployment Insurance law. As a result, you are not entitled to either total or partial unemployment insurance benefits. Therefore, it is your responsibility to notify DUI staff that you are a full-time worker. Failure to disclose this fact may be viewed as an attempt to fraudulently collect unemployment insurance benefits.
23. If I have been working part-time but am now unemployed and only looking for part-time work, am I eligible for unemployment insurance benefits?
A part-time worker who has become unemployed and is only looking for part-time work may be eligible if he/she meets the definition and requirements outlined in the Maryland Unemployment Insurance Law. The definition and requirements are provided below.
A part-time worker is defined as an individual whose availability for work is restricted to part-time work, and who worked at least 20 hours per week in part-time work for a majority of the weeks of work in the base period (time period used to determine monetary eligibility for benefits).
A part-time worker is considered to be able and available for work if he/she:
- Met the definition of part-time worker outlined above;
- Is actively seeking part-time work;
- Is available for part-time work for at least the number of hours worked at the part-time;
- worker's most recent employment, but no less than 20 hours per week; and
- Is in a labor market in which a reasonable demand exists for part-time work.
A part-time worker is not considered to be unemployed, and, therefore, not entitled to benefits, if the part-time worker is working all hours for which he/she is available regardless of the amount of money earned.
24. Can I file for unemployment insurance benefits if I do not meet the definition of a part-time worker, as defined in the question above, but am working part-time?
If you do not meet the definition of a "part-time worker" as explained above, but are working all of the hours your employer has available and your gross pay is less than your weekly benefit amount plus any dependents' allowance, you may be eligible for partial benefits. However, you must still be able, available and actively seeking full-time work. You cannot restrict your work search to part-time work and be eligible for benefits. Also, you must report your gross wages each week.
If you stop working a part-time job, you must immediately notify the Division of Unemployment Insurance (DUI). Failure to do so could result in a finding of unemployment insurance fraud.
25. When, why and how will the Division of Unemployment Insurance contact me?
You may receive a notice from DUI asking you to be available at your telephone number to talk to a staff member for some specific reason. The notice will tell you the reason for the call and when to be available. You must be available at the telephone number that you provided on the date and at the time shown on the notice. Failure to be available could result in a delay or denial of benefits.
You may also occasionally receive a notice asking you to report in-person or by telephone for an appeal hearing. Have your notice with you. Failure to be available for this hearing could result in a delay or denial of benefits.
26. What should I do if I cannot report or be available as instructed?
It is important to read any notice carefully and follow the instructions that are provided concerning what to do if you cannot be available or report in-person as specified in the notice. In most cases, you should send the notice back to the address specified on the notice explaining why you cannot report. Also, if the notice was concerning an unemployment insurance fact finding interview to resolve a particular issue, (for example, a voluntary quit) provide as much information as possible concerning that issue.
Any correspondence should always include your name, address and Social Security number. If you have any questions, call the Claimant Information Service. Failure to be available by telephone or report in-person as instructed may delay payment and may result in denial of your benefits.
27. What does it mean to be disqualified or penalized? What can cause a disqualification?
If you are disqualified, a penalty has been imposed on your claim for benefits because some requirement of the Unemployment Insurance Law has not been met. You cannot receive benefits until the penalty is satisfied. Below is a link to a list of issues that commonly need to be resolved before benefits are payable. If there is an issue on your claim, you will be notified by mail of the time and date of the fact finding appointment. The notice will also contain the telephone number that you provided when you filed your claim and you will be contacted at that telephone number. The issue(s) to be resolved will be printed on the notice. View more information about the types of issues and the disqualification associated with each particular issue.
28. What do I do if I receive a Notice of Benefit Determination denying my unemployment insurance benefits and I wish to appeal the denial?
The Notice of Benefit Determination that you will receive will explain why you were denied unemployment insurance benefits, and which section of the Maryland Unemployment insurance Law applies to the denial. The determination will also state how long you will be disqualified from receiving benefits.
The Notice of Benefit Determination will explain your appeal rights and the last day that an appeal may be filed.
The last date to file an appeal is printed on nonmonetary determinations. You may appeal within 15 calendar days and request a hearing on the facts. The appeal must be filed in writing and it must be filed within 15 calendar days from the date the determination was mailed. Appeal requests postmarked or faxed after that date may not be granted. Your signature must be included on the request for appeal. Appeal requests filed by e-mail are not acceptable. In order for the appeal request to be honored by the Appeals Division, the original signature of the person requesting the appeal must be provided. Appeal requests postmarked or faxed after that date may not be granted. All appeals must be in writing and submitted by mail to the Appeals Division, 1100 N. Eutaw Street, Rm. 505, Baltimore, MD 21201 or by fax at 410-225-9781.
You must continue to file timely weekly claim certifications. You will not be eligible to receive benefits for any week(s) that was not filed timely, even if you win the appeal.
If a Notice of Benefit Determination involves one of your employers, that employer also has the right to appeal the decision. If either you or your employer files an appeal and you are still unemployed, you must continue to file your timely weekly claim certifications. If you do not, you will not receive benefits, even if the appeal decision is in your favor.
- file for benefits while working and do not report your earnings or
- make false statements or fail to give required information in order to obtain or increase benefits.
If you are found guilty of fraud you will:
- be considered overpaid for all benefits acquired fraudulently, and
- not be permitted to file for benefits for a one year period beginning the date fraud is determined, and
- be required to repay the fraudulently acquired benefits before any future benefits will be paid to you.
In addition to the above, penalties for fraud can include prosecution, which could result in a fine up to $1,000 or imprisonment for up to 90 days, or both, plus penalties and interest on the fraudulently collected benefits.
To report Unemployment Insurance fraud, call 1-800-492-6804.
30. What unemployment insurance services or information can I access by telephone? What is the number I should call?
The Division of Unemployment Insurance (DUI) has an automated telephone information system that is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. This is the Claimant Information Service referred to in many of these questions.
- The telephone number for people living in the Baltimore area or in a state other than Maryland is
- The toll free telephone number for people living in Maryland but outside the Baltimore calling area, is
- The Maryland Relay number for the hearing impaired is 711.
To access one of the following information options, press or speak the number that corresponds to the requested option.
1 To file a Telecert or obtain payment information
2 How to file an initial or reopen claim, telephone numbers and hours of operation
3 Information on overpayments, tax forms and the Tax Refund Intercept Program (TRIP), penalties or appeals
4 Address Change
5 To speak to an operator
If you are a rotary caller, you must clearly speak the numbers "one", "two", "three", "four" or "five" to select the information option you want, and the system will interpret your selection. Simple instructions are provided to rotary callers to explain how to use speech recognition.
The automated voice response service is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Service representatives are available to help people with special problems or questions Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. until 4:00 p.m. EST on any weekday excluding State holidays.
- You first become unemployed and wish to file your initial claim for unemployment insurance benefits;
- You are filing for benefits, work and earn wages equal to or more than your weekly benefit amount during any week, and are now totally or partially unemployed and wish to resume filing for UI benefits; or
- You are requested, either by telephone or by receipt of a written notice, to do so by any DUI staff .
32. How do I get help in finding a job?
You may contact the Maryland Division of Workforce Development and Adult Learning (DWDAL). You may also visit the Maryland Workforce Exchange (MWE) via the internet. All claimants must register with DWDAL within five (5) days of filing their initial claim certification for Unemployment Insurance benefits. Another option you may consider is visiting your local American Job Center for in person assistance with finding a job. Locate your nearest American Job Center online.
1. What is the Maryland Unemployment Insurance Benefits Debit Card?
The Maryland Unemployment Insurance Benefits Debit Card is a Visa® debit card issued through Bank of America. The card is not a credit card. It carries no credit line and you are not subjected to a credit check or approval process to receive the card. Purchases and withdrawals are limited to the balance on your card. This card is valid for a three year period.
3. If I receive a debit card, does that mean that I have met the eligibility criteria to receive Maryland unemployment insurance benefits and have been paid?
Yes. If your UI payments are approved you will receive a debit card. First, you will receive a notice entitled "Notice of First Benefit Payment Approval and Mailing of Your Bank of America Debit Card." You should then receive your debit card within 10 days. It will arrive in a white envelope with the State of Maryland logo and a Gray, Tennessee return address in the upper left-hand corner. It will be mailed to the address you provided to this agency. It will not be forwarded. You must activate your card as soon as you receive it.
Receipt of the card means that your initial payments are available, but it does not mean that you will automatically be eligible to continue to receive UI benefits. However, if you continue to file timely weekly certifications and continue to meet all of the eligibility requirements of the Maryland UI Law, all future benefits will be paid through the Bank of America debit card. To obtain information on UI eligibility requirements, to file a Webcert weekly claim certification, or to obtain a claim center telephone number, refer to other sections of this website.
4. When won't I receive a debit card?
If your UI benefit payments are not approved, you will not receive a debit card. Reasons that could prevent you from being approved for payment include: you are not monetarily eligible; you have been denied UI benefits for a nonmonetary reason (for example, you quit or were discharged from your job, you are not able to work, etc.); or you have not filed a timely weekly claim certification. For a more detailed explanation of these and other reasons, refer to other sections of this website.
- Access cash through bank tellers at any bank that accepts Visa.
- Transfer your unemployment insurance payments to your personal bank account (similar to direct deposit). You must have an email address for direct transfer.
- Withdraw cash from a Bank of America ATM fee free.
- Get cash back at select retail point-of-sale locations.
- Make purchases through signature or pin-based transactions.
- Make 6 fee free withdrawals per month using an ATM outside of the Bank of America ATM network. The owner of the ATM may charge a fee.
6. Can I access the entire cash amount of my unemployment insurance benefit payment on the same day the funds are available?
Yes. The funds are available for withdrawal on the day of payment. There is no set amount that can be withdrawn from an ATM from a non-Bank of America ATM. Each ATM sets its own limit on the amount that can be withdrawn at one time or during one day. However, if you withdraw your money from a teller at a bank that displays the Visa logo, you can withdraw the entire balance on your card.
7. When will I receive my initial payment?
All payments made prior to receipt of your debit card will be immediately available when you receive your debit card. In order to receive subsequent payments, you must file your weekly claim certifications (request for payment) timely. These future payments will be available on your debit card by 5:00 p.m. EST on the next working day (Monday through Friday, excluding holidays) following the date your weekly claim certification is processed. This applies to both Webcerts (weekly claim certifications filed by Internet) and Telecerts (weekly claim certifications filed by telephone). For example, if you file your weekly claim certification on Sunday, it will be processed on Monday night and the funds will be available on your debit card on Tuesday by 5:00 p.m. EST. The weekly claim certification filing dates will be available on the internet on the unemployment insurance (Webcert) page and on the Bank of America website.
The date and the amount of the last payment issued to you in the last 30 days may be obtained by calling the Claimant Information Service and choosing the payment information option or by accessing mdunemployment.com, clicking on "File Your WEBCERT" and selecting "Payment Information". You may not use the unemployment insurance website for payment information unless you use WEBCERT to file your weekly certifications.
DO NOT inquire about your payment until at least 48 hours have passed after filing your weekly claim certification. Payments are processed at night on workdays only.
The payment information will also be available on the Bank of America website. See your Bank of America "Maryland Unemployment Insurance Benefit Debit Card" guide.
8. How will I know when funds are added to my card?
You may sign up for optional text or e-mail notifications through the Bank of America website.
9. How do I check my debit card balance or track my spending?
You can check your balance or view a summary of your account information online at Bank of America website, at a Bank of America ATM fee free, or you can call Bank of America Customer Service at 1-855-847-2029. If you check your balance at another ATM, the owner of the ATM may charge a fee.
10. Are there fees for using the debit card?
View the "Schedule of Bank Fees" associated with this debit card.
11. How do I transfer the funds on the debit card to my personal bank account?
You may choose to have the debit card payments transferred to your personal bank account. This is similar to direct deposit. The instructions are contained in the materials that are mailed to you by the bank entitled "Your Maryland Unemployment Benefits Debit Card." The document displays an example of how to set up the transfer of funds to your personal account. You will set up the transfer on the Bank of America website.
For benefits that have already been placed on the debit card, you may transfer them to your personal account using the Bank of America website.
IMPORTANT: You must have a valid e-mail address in order to establish the funds transfer to your personal bank account. This security feature protects you against any fraudulent activity. You will receive an e-mail notifying you of the request to set up a direct transfer.
12. If I stop filing for unemployment insurance benefits and then at a later point re-apply, will I use the same debit card?
Yes. You will need to hold onto your debit card in the event that you might receive future payments from the State of Maryland. The debit card is valid for a three-year period.
13. What should I do if I change my address?
You must notify the Division of Unemployment Insurance (DUI) at 410-949-0022 or 1-800-827-4839 (outside of the Baltimore area but within Maryland). Even though you will not be receiving checks through the mail, you may be sent notices from DUI and your failure to respond to the information/instructions in these notices could result in a delay or denial of your benefits.
15. When do I contact the Division of Unemployment Insurance?
Contact the Division of Unemployment Insurance for concerns related to your eligibility for unemployment insurance benefits, e.g., to question the amount of benefits you are paid or to obtain an explanation regarding a denial of benefits, etc.
If you move, you must change your address, telephone number and email address with the Division of Unemployment Insurance at 410-949-0022 or 1-800-827-4839 (outside of the Baltimore area but within Maryland).
You may view the entire pamphlet entitled "Your Maryland Unemployment Benefits Debit Card" which was issued by the Bank of America.